Review–The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Good Girl

The Good Girl

by Mary Kubica

Summary: "I've been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don't know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she's scared. But I will."
One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn't show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia's life.
When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia's mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family's world to shatter.
An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.


Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a kindle copy.

Review:

The Good Girl was a suspenseful novel that was perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the
Train. I enjoyed the story and finding out slowly what happened to Mia Dennett, a high profile judge’s daughter, when she went missing. When she came back, she called herself by another name, had amnesia, and couldn’t explain what happened to her.

The Good Girl was written from several perspectives in the past and present, but not from Mia’s own point of view, which I thought was interesting. I could tell that the Dennett family was far from perfect and understood that the detective investigating her disappearance would have a difficult time dealing with Judge Dennett. I was anxious to see what secrets would be unraveled as the story went on.

It was the perfect mystery for fans of contemporary books because it didn’t read like a crime novel and it was definitely character based as the Dennett family secrets were revealed and Mia’s situation unfolded. I highly enjoyed it, but it was fairly anticlimactic. Once I started to see how certain pieces were coming together. While I definitely recommend the novel, I certainly understand the 3 star reviews because I did feel like it became slightly predictable and was slow at times.

4%25252520star

Labels: , ,